New Officers, Directors Elected

In addition to electing Robert S.D. Higgins, MD, MSHA as the Society’s new President, STS members elected several new officers and other Board members yesterday evening.

Joseph A. Dearani, MD was elected First Vice President, and Sean C. Grondin, MD, MPH, FRCSC was elected Second Vice President. Joseph F. Sabik III, MD was reelected Secretary, and Thomas E. MacGillivray, MD was reelected Treasurer.

Leah M. Backhus, MD and Ara A. Vaporciyan, MD were elected or reelected as Directors-at-Large.

Alan D. Sihoe, MD, MA, FRCSEd was elected as International Director, Marc Ruel, MD, MPH was elected as Canadian Director, and Andrew P. Goldstone, MD, PhD was elected as Resident Director.

Also during the Business Meeting, STS members approved a Bylaws amendment that reduces the grace period from 1 year to 6 months for overdue financial obligations such as membership dues.